Entries in Royal Philharmonic Society (38)


Pianist Mitsuko Uchida awarded Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal


One of classical music’s highest honours, to be presented to a “peerless musician” at the Royal Philharmonic Society [RPS] Music Awards, the ‘oscars’ of live classical music in the UK

Tuesday 8 May, Dorchester Hotel

Pianist Mitsuko Uchida, has been awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal, one of classical music’s highest honours. Hailed by the Society as a “peerless musician”, she joins an illustrious list of current RPS Gold Medallists: Bernard Haitink; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau; Janet Baker; Alfred Brendel; Colin Davis; Elliott Carter; Pierre Boulez; Simon Rattle; Placido Domingo; Daniel Barenboim; Henri Dutilleux; Thomas Quasthoff and Nikolaus Harnoncourt.

The Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal is awarded by the members of the Royal Philharmonic Society. It was created to commemorate the centenary of Beethoven’s birth and celebrates the close relationship between the Society and the composer (the RPS commissioned Beethoven’s 9th Symphony and championed his work, and the medal bears an effigy of the composer). Since its initiation in 1870, recipients of the RPS Gold Medal have included Brahms (1877), Delius and Elgar (1925), Richard Strauss (1936), Stravinsky (1954), Britten and Bernstein (1987).

The RPS Gold Medal will be presented to Mitsuko Uchida by RPS Chairman John Gilhooly at this year’s Royal Philharmonic Society [RPS] Music Awards at London’s Dorchester Hotel, in front of an audience of musicians and leading music figures on Tuesday 8 May.

About the RPS Music Awards ceremony – Tuesday 8 May

The RPS Music Awards ceremony, the ‘oscars’ of live classical music in the UK, presented in association with BBC Radio 3, will be hosted by BBC Radio 3’s Petroc Trelawny and Katie Derham. Winners in thirteen categories are chosen by independent juries and the silver lyre trophies will be presented to the lucky few by tenor John Mark Ainsley, himself a former winner of the RPS Music Award for Singer. Gareth Malone is the keynote speaker. BBC Radio 3 will broadcast a special awards programme on Sunday 13 May at 2pm.

Those in contention for RPS Music Awards this year include some of the biggest names in classical music: conductors Claudio Abbado; Gianandrea Noseda and Donald Runnicles; instrumentalists Maurizio Pollini, Marc-André Hamelin and Christian Tetzlaff; the Royal Opera House and English National Opera; and stars of a younger generation, including soprano Sophie Bevan, pianist Benjamin Grosvenor and cellist Oliver Coates.