« Booking Opens for Britten Sinfonia 2019/20 concerts in London, Saffron Hall and Norwich | Main | Shortlists announced for Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards »

Winners announced of Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards

The UK’s most prestigious awards for live classical music
Presented in association with BBC Radio 3

  • Tenor Allan Clayton, conductor Vladimir Jurowski and pianist Igor Levit amongst big name winners.

  • Scottish guitarist Sean Shibe wins coveted RPS Music Award for Young Artists

  • Composers Mark-Anthony Turnage and James Dillon take home the composition prizes.

  • London Symphony Orchestra’s This is Rattle, which placed British composers and music at its heart, takes RPS Music Award for Concert Series and Festivals.

  • A strong showing for vocal music includes wins for:

    • ¬  The Sixteen

    • ¬  The Monteverdi Choir and Orchestra’s Monteverdi 450 Trilogy

    • ¬  Baritone Thomas Quasthoff’s BBC documentary, Becoming a Lied Singer

    • ¬  Spitalfields Music’s “quirky and creative song-crawl”, Schumann Street.

  • Two Yorkshire events win big:

    • ¬  Community opera Calderland – A People’s Opera, commissioned and created by 509 Arts with a cast of thousands: “a love song to the Calder Valley and the people who live in it.”

    • ¬  Classically Yours, Orchestras Live in partnership with East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s programme of concerts, workshops and participatory events in rural and coastal communities.

      American soprano Jessye Norman receives the Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal in the year she celebrates 50 years in the music profession. The Society’s – and one of classical music’s - highest honours awarded to “a towering artist: an icon in the operatic world who has raised the bar of the possibilities of the human voice.”

      Highlights from the RPS Music Awards will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at 19.30hrs on Monday 14 May and then on BBCi-Player